Azuka Theatre strengthens the connection and shared humanity among its diverse audiences by giving voice to the people whose stories go unheard.


Located in Philadelphia, Azuka Theatre was founded in 1999 by a group of young artists participating in the Arden Theatre Company’s nationally recognized Professional Apprentice Program.
Azuka Theatre has built a reputation for accessible, thought-provoking and socially conscious theater and been hailed as “a company to watch” and a “major player on the Philadelphia alternative theatre scene’” by Philadelphia Weekly.


Philadelphia Gay News’ LAMBDA Award: 
-Outstanding Arts Event (Azuka’s first production)
  La Rue des Faux (1999)

Barrymore Award:

  • Outstanding Sound Design, Christopher Colucci
     The Long Christmas Ride Home (2009)
  • Outstanding Leading Actress in a Musical, Kim Carson
    Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2007)

Barrymore Nominations:

  • Outstanding New Play
    for An Artist’s Workshop (2004)
  • Best Actress in a Play - - Mary Martello
    for The Boys (2006)
  • Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical,
    Outstanding Direction of a Musical - - Kevin Glaccum,
    Outstanding Musical Direction - - Troy Herion,
    Outstanding Leading Actor in a Musical - - Dito van Reigersberg
    for Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2007)
  • Outstanding Sound Design - - Christopher Colucci,
    Outstanding Leading Actor in a Play - - Keith J. Conallen
    for The Long Christmas Ride Home (2009)
  • Independence Foundation Award for Outstanding New Play
    for the terrible girls, by Jacqueline Goldfinger (2011)
  • June and Steve Wolfson Award for an Evolving Theater (2013)
  • June and Steve Wolfson Award for an Evolving Theater (2014)
  • Outstanding Set Design - - Dirk Durossette, Skin & Bone (2014)
  • Virginia Brown Martin Philadelphia Award -- Speech & Debate (2015)
  • June and Steve Wolfson Award for an Evolving Theater (2016)
  • Earl Girls Award for Outstanding Lighting Design -- Alyssandra Docherty
    Clear Sound Award for Outstanding Sound Design -- Damien Figueras
    for Moth (2016)